Do you want to Delete the Yahoo Mail account permanently? – Deleting a Yahoo Mail account not only means you are removing the webmail service of Yahoo Mail. But also means to remove any services that you are getting with Yahoo Mail Account. Furthermore, by deleting the Ymail account you will not be sent or receive any emails with Yahoo mail. Whenever a person tries to send you an email, he will get a delivery failure message. So, make sure you inform your friends and family that you are going to delete the Yahoo Mail account permanently.
If you are deleting your Yahoo Mail account then, you are going to miss/lose a lot of Yahoo Mail services that Yahoo has been improving day by day. Yahoo Mail has been adding new features in its service gradually. Which you might not get in any other web-mails. If you still want to delete your yahoo mail account, here in this article I am going to guide you on how to delete the Yahoo mail Account Permanently.
Note: You can recover your Yahoo Mail account within 30 days of the deletion period.
Things You Should Do Before You Delete Your Account!
Backup your emails and attachments
If you need any attachments or emails which are important to you, then you need back up your email and attachments as you will be losing them.
Remove Third-party Access
If you are using Yahoo Mail account as your Third-party Access to any other accounts on the web, you should remove it. When you no longer have access to your Yahoo Mail you cannot recover your third party account. You might even the account if you forget your password.
Disable all the paid yahoo Services
Although you delete your Yahoo Account, the paid services that you are subscribed to will not be disabled. You might get some receipt to your bank account for the use of these premium services even after you delete your account.
People are not capable of remembering all those contacts they have in their Mail services. If you are migrating to any other webmail service, you might still need those contacts in your Yahoo Mail. So, it’s better to export those contact to the hard-drive so that you can use it in the future.
Do you have a Flickr account? This section is for you.
Flickr is hosted by Yahoo, so, if you are planning to delete the Yahoo Mail account, you need to download and back up all those photos on Flickr. You can have access to your Flickr account only if you have access to Yahoo Mail Account.
Steps to Delete The Yahoo Mail Account Permanently
Think twice before you delete your Yahoo Mail account because you won’t be able to get emails and access to your account after you delete your account permanently.
Here are the steps to delete the Yahoo Mail Account permanently.
Step 1: Log in Yahoo Mail account
Go to the Yahoo Mail login page, enter your email address and password to get access to your Yahoo account.
Step 2: Open The Yahoo Account Deletion Page
If you have not login to your account yet. You need to login to your Yahoo account by now.
[Note: If you haven’t disabled Account key yet then, you will get a message in your phone number for authentication]
Step 3: Click Continue deleting my account
After you land to terminate page. You will see, “Before continuing, please consider the following information”, Read the terms and notes to know the detail about the account deletion process and what you need to do before deleting the account. If you changed your mind then you can press the cancel button, if not, click on the Continue delete my account button.
Step 4: Enter Your Email address to confirm
After you click on Continue deleting my account, you will be redirected to a new page asking you, “Are you sure you want to terminate your Yahoo account?”. Now, enter your Email address once again in the text field to confirm.
Step 5: Click Yes, terminate this account
After you enter your email address on the same page, “Are you sure you want to terminate your Yahoo account?”. Click on the Yes, terminate this account button if you want to delete your Yahoo account; otherwise, click cancel.
Step 6: Click Sounds good
You have almost deleted your Yahoo account; this is the last step where you have click Sounds good button to delete the yahoo mail account. You will be redirected to the Yahoo homepage once your account is processed for deletion.
[Note: If your Yahoo mail account is with BT – British Telecommunications, you will not be able to cancel the service using the Yahoo account termination page. For that, you have to contact BT directly to delete your premium Yahoo Mail account.]
Things to Remember
- After you delete your account from Yahoo Mail, your email address will be available to others to use. that means, if anyone sends you an email, the person who created an email account with your deleted email address will get all your emails.
- You can reactivate your account within 30 days of your account deletion. The reactivation date varies according to the place you live in.
You can reactivate your account with extended days of 90 days for those accounts registered in Australia, India, or New Zealand; Whereas 108 days of account created in Brazil, Hong Kong or Taiwan. https://help.yahoo.com/kb/requested-account-deleted-sln2044.html
- After you delete your account, if anyone tries to send you a message then, they will get SMTP 554 delivery error message. This is how the email will look like:
SMTP 554 delivery error: dd Sorry your message to *****@yahoo.com cannot be delivered. This account has been disabled or discontinued [#102]. – ica***_mail_***.yahoo.com